

Jul 26, 2013

Any foreign visitors wishing to enter Republic of Korea must have a valid passport and obtain a Korean visa before coming except Jeju.

If you enter Jeju directly without connecting at Seoul (Incheon, Gimpo) or other Korean cities, and you are not a citizen of Afghanistan, Cuba, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Nigeria, Macedonia, Palestine, Sudan, and Syria, then you will be allowed to stay Jeju at least 30 days only with a valid passport without visa.

If you want to visit another cities in Korea after stayed Jeju, you have to prepare Korean visa before enter Korea. But people of 99 countries who want to visit Korea temporarily are permitted to enter without a visa according to visa-exemption agreements (Table 1), or in accordance with principles reciprocity or national interest (Table 2).

[Table 1] Countries under visa exemption agreement

Passport Total Countries Туре Diplomatic China (30 days), Turkmenistan (30 days), Ukraine (90 days), Uzbekistan (60 days) (4 countries) Algeria (90 days), Argentina (90 days), Azerbaijan (30 days), Bangladesh (90 days), Belarus (90 days), Belize (90 days), Benin (90 days), Cambodia (60 days), Cyprus (90 days), Croatia (90 days), Ecuador (Diplomatic: as needed Diplomatic for work performance, Official: 3 months), Egypt (90 days), Gabon (90 days), India (90 days), Iran (3 months), Japan & (3 months), Kazakhstan (90 days), Laos (90 days), Mongolia (90 days), Pakistan (3 months), Paraguay (90 days), the Official Philippines (Unlimited), Russia (90 days), Uruguay (90 days), Vietnam (90 days), Moldova(90 days within 180 days), (33 countries) Tajikistan(90 days), Georgia(90 days), Myanmar (90 days), Bolivia (90 days), Kyrgyz (30 days), Armenia (90 days), Angola (30 days) Asia Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand (4 countries) Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Commonwealth of Dominica, 99 countries Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, America (90 days) Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, (25 countries) Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela (Diplomatic/Official: 30 days, Ordinary: 90 days), Diplomatic Uruguay ጲ [Schengen countries (except for Slovenia out of the 26 Schengen countries)], Austria Official (Diplomatic/Official: 180 days), Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, & Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (60days), Ordinary Europe Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland (64 countries) (30 countries) * Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden (90 days within 180 days) [Non-Schengen countries] Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania, Turkey, UK Africa ጲ Israel, Liberia, Morocco, Tunisia(30 days), Lesotho(60 days) Middle East (5 countries)

% Italy: Despite visa exemption for a stay of up to 60 days under agreement, the reciprocity principle allows a stay of up to 90 days from June 15, 2003.

※ Japan: Visa exemption for a stay of up to 90 days for ordinary-passport holders based on exchange of note verbale. (Visa exemption agreement concluded for diplomatic and official-passport holders)



[Table 2] Nationals of countries or regions allowed for visa-free entry (up to 30 days unless noticed otherwise)

Continents	Countries
Asia	Brunei (30 days), Hong Kong (90 days), Indonesia (diplomatic and official, 30 days), Japan (90 days), Macau (90 days), Taiwan
(6 countries)	(90 days)
America	Argentina (30 days), Canada (6 months), Ecuador (30days), Guyana (30 days), Honduras (30 days), Paraguay (30 days),
(7 countries)	United States (90 days)
Europe	Albania (30 days), Andora (30 days), Bosnia-Herzegovina (30 days), Croatia (90 days), Cyprus (30 days), Monaco (30 days),
(11countries)	Montenegro (30 days), San Marino (30 days), Serbia (90 days), Slovenia (90 days), Vatican (30 days)
Oceania (13 countries)	Australia (90 days), Fiji (30 days), Guam (30 days), Kiribati (30 days), Marshall Islands (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), Nauru (30 days), New Caledonia (30 days), Palau (30 days), Samoa (30 days), Solomon Islands (30 days), Tonga (30 days), Tuvalu (30 days)
Middle East and Africa (13 countries)	Bahrain (30 days), Egypt (30 days), Kuwait (30 days), Lebanon (diplomatic and official 30 days), Mauritius (30 days), Oman (30 days), Qatar (30 days), Saudi Arabia (30 days), Seychelles (30 days), South Africa (30 days), Swaziland (30 days), United Arab Emirates (30 days), Yemen (30 days)

Tourist & Business Visas

Visitors from countries not under Visa Exemption Agreements must apply for a visa extension if planning to stay for more than 30 days. Depending on the situation of the consulate, the visa extension will be issued 1 to 3 days from the day of application. Applicants require a completed application form, a recent passport-size colorful photo and application fee. Visitors do not require the outbound flight ticket. Visa extensions are usually for 90 days. All visas including long-term visas are for a single visit. Therefore anyone who wishes to leave the country and re-enter later on during the allowed period of stay should obtain the Re-entry Permit from the Ministry of Justice prior to departure. For business visas, the intention of activities must be clearly stated on the visa application form. Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Homepage: http://www.mofat.go.kr

Application for Visas

- Visa application should be made at Korean Embassies or consulates abroad.
- It is required for the visa applicants to submit passport, application forms, a recent passport-style color photograph, and such other documents as determined by the status of stay.
- Visa fees are as follows:
 - a. Single entry visa for a stay of no more than 90 days : USD30
 - b. Single entry visa for a stay of more than 90 days : USD50
 - c. Multiple entry visa : USD80
 - d. Prolongation of Re-entry Permit : USD20
- For Citizens of United States of America, multiple entry visa fee is USD45 on the basis of reciprocity since the mutual agreement in 1994.

Visa Extension

Extensions for tourist visas are possible in special cases such as accidents, health problems, flight cancellation, etc. Applications for visa extensions can be made at a local immigration office at least one day before the day of expiration.

Related Site: g4f (http://www.g4f.go.kr) or Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (http://www.mofat.go.kr/ENG/main/index.jsp)